top of page
Search
  • welfare93

Abaigeal Pettit Mee

How I Stay on Top of My Wellbeing During Lockdown and College


My name is Abaigeal, and I am here to talk to you all about how I looked after my wellbeing during this lockdown and while studying for my Masters online. I hope my routines will provide some guidance to help you mind your mental health and wellbeing during this difficult time.


Walks

I find walking very good to clear my mind and is a great way to get a break from stop looking at my laptop screen and doing assignments. I am fortunate to be living in the countryside outside of Clonakilty by many beaches and green fields within my 5km. I find it very relaxing. A simple walk of 20-30 minutes I found is suitable for your wellbeing. By going to the beach and listening to the waves, it is my comfortable and relaxing space.


Carry on Doing Things You Enjoy

I find my hobbies such as gaming on the Nintendo Switch and reading my favourite book such as ‘The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes’ are a great way to escape the demand of college workload and tackle anxiety when I feel overwhelmed by classes or assignments.


Don’t be Glued to the News

I find it best to limit my time watching about, hearing or seeing news on the news or social media concerning the current cases of COVID-19 etc. It is better to set up a specific time to catch up with the news, instead of being glued to it every hour of the day. It is always best to get the news from trustworthy sources.


Good Night Sleep and Looking after Myself

It is essential to get the sleep that we all need to concrete on our work and especially for our mental health in terms of controlling emotions. I always try my best to follow a set schedule of sleep. Sometimes, I find it hard to fall asleep, but when I do, I listen to white noise music or listen to stories on YouTube, where soothing voices soothe me to sleep.

Even though I love going on walks, if I cannot due to bad weather, I always make time to do easy stretches, drink enough water, or follow easy home workouts online. It is as important to mind your physical health as well as your mental health


Stay Connected and Express Yourself

This is the most challenging time where we cannot spend time with our friends or be on campus to attend our classes in person. This is the most lonely and isolating period during a lockdown. When I feel lonely or need someone to talk to concerning feeling upset and anxious about this current pandemic, I would reach out to my friends over video chat and discuss how I feel and vice versa. This is an excellent way to stay connected, even though we have to be separated apart. I also reach out to my family members about how I feel be my parents and siblings. It is good to have a great support system be with family or friends; to me, it is both. I would advise that if you are ever struggling, contact anyone you trust, make contact with help lines or even to our services provided by our campus.

This is a tough time, and everyone does react differently, and it is ok to feel the way you do. However, if you feel like you are struggling, further support is always out there to aid everyone.




137 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page